KS4 Awards Evening 2014

Most Inspirational Student received by Holly Warn
The Newquay Tretherras Year 11 Graduation Evening took place on the 30th November 2014 at the Hotel Bristol. Over 100 students were presented with their GCSE result certificates and prizes for outstanding achievements over their five-year period at the school.  Head Boy Matt Banks and Head Poppy Wring expertly led proceedings for the evening with the assistance of Deputies Ryan Greendale and Briony Nesbitt.

Mrs Sue Martin Headteacher, spoke of the groups academic success, which was well above the national average and places the school 6th out of 31 schools in the County. In the 2014 GCSE results, 70.8% of students walked away with 5 or more A–C results including English and Maths. Almost the entire year group collected 5 GCSE grades ranging from A–G and 32% of students, a record number, achieved the Baccalaureate qualification putting Newquay Tretherras 3rd in the County.

Mrs Martin commented that the GCSE subject results in 2014 had bettered the previous year’s results, “ You achieved lots of subject records this year, brilliant Science results with 65.7% of you walking away with at least 2 science qualifications at C and above. We had Maths, Further Maths, ICT, Business Studies, English Literature, Media Studies, Graphic, Textiles, Drama, Geography, French, Spanish, Art, and Resistant Materials all up on last years’ results.’
Mrs Martin added, “I must also mention, that in Applied Learning you achieved 100% pass rates; in Child Development, Health and Social Care, Engineering, Health and Social, Travel and Tourism and Sport and Active Leisure.”
Mrs Martin also praised individual success, “There were stunning performances from many of you, achieving 5 or more A* GCSE results, Jasmine Tomlinson, Jordan Holroyd, Thomas Lutey, Jade Hunt and Sophia Fernley to name a few.”
“But a number of your really impressed with your progress, there were some remarkable performances from people who achieved two grades higher than what was expected. It was a result of not just a fantastic attitude in Year 11 but your attitude over the whole 5 years at Newquay Tretherras that has made you all very successful.”   
Ms Jane Hurley, the year group’s former Head of Year, spoke of the enthusiasm the year group showed to many different elements of school life. Ms Hurley emphasised the particularly skills and sports the year group devised over the years and the big success they achieved during their time.
Ms Hurley summed up her experience with the year group by saying, ‘I just want to finish up by saying that you were truly a great bunch of students, you were a fantastic group, full of wonderful individuals. I hope you recognise we tried to support your individual talents and I am sure you will go on to do amazing things. Congratulations.’
Chair of Newquay Education Trust, Mrs Sarah Karkeek and Mrs Jane Hurley presented the awards for academic achievements. Best Key Stage 4 results were awarded to Jordan Holroyd. Charlie Hutton won most academic progress in KS4. Marcus Amaglo won the Greatest Contribution to Performing Arts. Jake Blum won Greatest contribution to the Life of the School. Lowenna Hawkey and Angus Scotney jointly won the Sport Award. Alice Whitbread Abrutat won the Top Scientist Award of 2013/14. Holly Warn received the award for the Most Inspirational Student and was met by rapturous applause.
Mrs Karkeek concluded the evening by thanking the families of students for their continued support, and the school PTA whose fund raising supported the event. 
“As always, another fantastic evening of celebration at Newquay Tretherras. My heart is bursting with pride. We have to thank Mrs Hurley, Mr Sloan and all the Year 11 team. Didn’t they do a fantastic job of supporting these wonderful students! My final thanks go to the Students. You have achieved so well, may you go on to do so in your futures.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>