New Sixth Form Prefect Team chosen



Recently at Newquay Tretherras, interviews were held to select the 2014/2015 Sixth Form Head Students and Prefect team.

Over the year, the group will act as mentors, using their personal experiences of their time in school to advise students as well as acting as representatives by putting forth suggestions on ways to improve the school.

Almost twenty Year 12 students submitted letters of application to explain why they should be Head Boy or Girl before being later questioned by head teacher Sue Martin and a selection of younger students.

The decision was difficult for the panel who were amazed by the high standard of applicants but eventually decided on Matthew Banks for Head Boy and Poppy Wring for Head Girl and five deputies to assist them.

Matt said, “I wanted the responsibility so that I could pay back everything the school had given me.”

Prefect roles were assigned to the remaining interviewees with each student being linked to a specific year group that they will offer support and guidance to.

The full Prefect Team is as follows:


Head Boy – Matt Banks

Head Girl – Poppy Wring


Deputies – Emily Harbisher

Harry Stallard

Briony Nesbitt

Seamus Merrin

Ryan Greendale


Prefects – Thomas Harding – Year 7 link

Zennor Robinson – Year 7 link

Tiffany Wilson – Year 7 link

Daisy Phillips – Year 8 link

Victoria Wesson – Year 8 link

Hannah-Louise Reek – Year 9 link

Rebekah White – Year 9 link

Phoebe Hughes – Year 10 link

April Norfolk – Year 10 link

Amy Chapple – Year 11 link

Zoe Scholes – Year 11 link