Celebrations at the Star Awards 2018

On the last week of summer term 2018, Year 7 & 8 students collected awards for their Academic Achievements and Progress at the Newquay Tretherras Star Awards.

The Star Awards evening was originally created specifically to recognise students with the highest academic achievement and acknowledge students with the highest progress at Key Stage 3.

Year 10 Newquay Tretherras student hosts, Sam Millington, Daisy Dewey, Joseph Wheeler and Charlotte Barrick opened the evening’s proceedings, by welcoming families and friends to a packed out Newquay Sports Centre.

Headteacher, Mrs Fairbairn, addressed both year groups congratulating them all on their efforts and successes that they have made in their first years at Newquay Tretherras.

“You are a wonderful group of young people who we are all very proud of. Our recent Ofsted inspection commented on how friendly, pleasant and polite, respectful and courteous you all are.

You are excellent ambassadors for the school and, for young adults, you understand the importance of tolerance and respect, and you recognise the value of diversity. I’m very proud of that. And I’m proud that the great relationships we value in lessons and around school, our positivity and respect for each other, has been recognised as being special.”

Mrs Fairbairn also gave a special mention and a prize to Mr White who retires after giving 25 years of service to the Newquay community at Newquay Tretherras.

There were two musical interludes during the evening, with a wonderful vocal solo by Arwen Hemming, who is playing Annie in Annie the musical this summer and an upbeat saxophone solo by Joe Millington.

Students were praised in 14 different subjects for the Most Academic Achievement and for the Most Academic progress. Special awards were given out to nominated students.

Heads of Year 7 & 8, Miss Barber and Ms Ollerenshaw, both spoke to their year groups and commented on the enthusiasm they demonstrate around the school, not only to learning but all activities around school life.

The Greatest Contribution in Year 7 Award went to Lola Miller and Dylan Gordon, and the Greatest Contribution in Year 8 Award to Caitlin Pennicook and Harvey France.

This year the Jenny Morgan Memorial Award was won by Joshua Griffiths.

The Tretherras Way Award in Year 7 was awarded to Jasmine Gordon and Tyler Carne, and in Year 8 it went to Mia Rickwood and Matthew Alecock-Smith.

The Headteachers Award was presented to Matilda Rigolli and Cally Barker by Mrs Fairbairn.

The Year 10 host closed the evening by once more congratulating the students’ achievements and inviting all prize winners onto the stage for a group photo.