KS5 Celebration Evening

Newquay Tretherras Sixth Form students who graduated in July 2018, along with their families and friends, attended the annual Key Stage 5 Celebration Evening at the Carnmarth Hotel on 17th December.

The evening saw the students return from University, to collect their qualification certificates as well as individual awards for subjects and special achievements.

Mr James Hammersley, Director of 16 – 18 Learning at Newquay Tretherras, welcomed the former students and congratulated the year group on accomplishing the greatest academic progress of any cohort Newquay Tretherras Sixth form has ever seen.

Lead Co-ordinator at the Sixth Form, Mr Andy Booth opened the evening speech and commented on the collective effort that made the Class of 2018 such a high attaining year group. 

Mr Booth commented, ‘I would like to say how much I have enjoyed working with this group of students, the potential of the group is unprecedented. They have been a credit to the Sixth Form, Newquay Tretherras and their parents. They are one of our record Years 48% A*- B and are the year group who have made the greatest academic progress of any cohort we have had. This has set the bar incredibly high for current Year 12 and 13 to aspire towards. I wish them every success with their future endeavours’.

Mr Booth moved on to talk about the academic tenacity students demonstrated before, Headteacher Mrs Fairbairn, presented subject awards to students.

This year’s subject winners were as follows;

Award for Chemistry – Tia Wright

Award for Biology – Abby-Lee Moroney

Award for Physics – Louis Emmanuel   

Award for Applied Science – Becky Kerkin

Award for Maths – Tia Wright

Award for Geography – Coral Stancliffe-Caldicott

Award for History – Philippa Mak

Award for English – Jack Powers

Award for Media – Georgie Tanner

Award for ICT – Simon Turner

Award for Computing – Joe Cave

Award for Health & Social Care – Ellie Carmichael

Award for Sociology – Rachel Baxter

Award for Psychology – Philippa Stockdale

Award for Applied Business – Curtis Horner

Award for Theatre Studies – Simon Turner

Award for Photography – Abby-Lee Moroney

Award for Music – Sam Casey

Award for PE – Jasmine Mann

Award for DT – Rory Tellam

Award for EP – Philippa Mak

Award for Business – Nico Robinson    

Award for EPQ – Callista Rowland

One Year Traineeship Programme – Hayden Webber

Awards for outstanding achievements were presented by Mrs Sarah Karkeek CEO of NET, with the exception of the Head Girl & Boy Award which was presented by Newquay Tretherras Headteacher Mrs Fairbairn.

This year’s Newquay Tretherras Advanced Academy award winners are as follows;

The Hamish Cameron Award (D of E) – Mia Blum & Coral Stancliffe-Caldicott           

Sporting Excellence – Jasmine Mann & Josh Mares                                                           

Award for Greatest Progress – Joe Cave

Contribution to the Community – Simon Turner

Best A-Level Results – Tia Wright

Head Boy – Harry Bowen

Head Girl – Rachel Millington

The evening concluded with Mr Booth wishing everyone and happy Christmas and a peaceful New Year. All prize winners gathering on stage for a group photograph.