Celebrations at The Key Stage 3 Awards 2022

Years 7 & 8 students collected their Key Stage 3 Awards on 13th July 2022.


The evening was dedicated to recognising students with the highest academic achievement and acknowledging students with the highest progress.


Year 10 Newquay Tretherras student hosts, Dellen Oakley, Ethan Lusty, Annie Watson and Sam Cooke-Davies opened the evening’s proceedings by welcoming families and friends to the Quay Hall.


Executive Headteacher, Mrs Fairbairn, welcomed both year groups congratulating them all on their efforts and successes that they have made at Newquay Tretherras. VIP Guest, Cornwall Education Learning Trust Lead, Mrs Mannall was also on stage to hand out prizes to recipients.


Newquay Tretherras’ Executive Headteacher, Mrs Fairbairn commented “In Year 7 & 8 there are over 600 students, and out of all those students, you are the ones here being celebrated for your academic progress, engagement and just being great students. I think that’s pretty amazing’.


Students were praised in 14 different subjects for the Most Academic Achievement and for the Most Academic Progress. Special awards were given out to nominated students.


Head of Year 7, Miss Barber, and Head of Year 8, Ms Ollerenshaw, both spoke to their year groups and commented on the enthusiasm they demonstrate around the school, not only to learning but all activities around school life.


The Head of Year Award in Year 7 went to Lily Warman and Quais Siddiqui. The Head of Year Award in Year 8 went to Sennen Watson and Louis Pearn.


This year the Jenny Morgan Memorial Award was won by Dominica Skyrius.


The Tretherras Way Award in Year 7 was presented to Princess Jepson and Jago Tobias, and in Year 8 it went to Evie Meek and Josh Teeder.


The Headteacher’s Award was presented to Marlie Strike and Charlie Pickering by Mrs Fairbairn.


There were two musical interludes during the evening, with an incredible vocal solo by Charlie Heslop supported by Joseph Bailey on the piano and a wonderful piano and vocal performance by Eve Collins.


The Year 10 hosts closed the evening by once more congratulating all the student achievements and inviting all prize winners onto the stage for a group photo.